Covers and Content

Bookbinding, writings, general creativity

Weaving a book

This is a book I made in my first year in Leksand. We had just learned stitching over ribbons stretched across the spine, and I wanted to combine it with the ribbon-weaving I’d learned the previous year at Mora Folkhögskola. All my weaving equipment was packed in boxes somewhere (still a often-encountered problem for me, whatever the subject), so I made my own using cardboard (If anybody knows the English name for this thing, please tell me. I call it bandgrind).

I let three warps run parallel with a few centimeters’ space between them, each one about half a centimeter wide. I punched holes in the paper with the same spaces between them.

After weaving a couple of decimeters of the ribbons, I started stitching the book. When the thread came out on the spine of the signature, I let it run through the warp, becoming part of the weft. When the book was as thick as I wanted it, I weaved the rest of the warp.

The cover is embroidered with one of the threads I used for the ribbon, with holes punched in it that the ribbon passes through, thus securing the cover to the bookblock. The spine is glued and rounded, which was a bit of a mistake. The brownish glue didn’t really look good on the ribbons. Next time I’ll make something even better. I have an idea about learning tablet weaving – then I could weave patterns, and maybe even letters to form the title of the book!

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Weaving a book

  1. Great idea and well done.

  2. This looks great; you are so talented! I just got into bookbinding and am still trying to perfect the coptic stitch. Hopefully one day, I will be able to reach your level!

    I’m glad that I came across your website. Love looking through all your posts. And I will be adding you to my “read list”. Thanks for all the inspiration (:

    Check Out My Blog/Website // mag @ swapbot

  3. Very interesting! is the thing you made called a loom?

  4. Gorgeous! I’ve never tried my hand at bookbinding before.

    –melydia@swap-bot

  5. What a fantastic idea, it looks gorgeous! The weaving makes it really fascinating to look at.

  6. Pingback: 10: Gardens, Finches, Puppets and More. | Almofate's Likes

Leave a Reply

