Covers and Content

Bookbinding, writings, general creativity

Drottningens Väg – a book in three variations

In November 2010 I wrote Drottningens väg (The Queen’s Way) for NaNoWriMo.

In April 2011 we had our annual spring exhibition at Leksands Kulturhus. The theme was Från det ena till det andra (From one thing to another). I’d had plans for a book jacket since the year before, and this seemed like the perfect time to make one. So from one thing to another (and another, and another): From my story, to a book, to a jacket and at last (because as I said in post about gifts, I don’t really know when to stop) to a necklace/choker.

I could have covered the book in the same fabric that I used for the jacket, but I felt that there would be more of a “transformation feeling” if I just chose a paper very similar to the fabric, and I think I found the perfect one. The book in itself is straightforward enough, leather back with foil print and leather corners, french headbands.

Then the jacket. I used fake leather for the back and corners, and printed it with the same machine we use for title prints. I wanted to silk screen print the lining, but since I didn’t have the necessary equipment, I did it with those iron-on papers that you just print from the computer*.  This had the effect of making the fabric a lot stiffer, which wasn’t really what I wanted, but maybe looked better than if I had got my will. The “beginning” of the jacket-book (that is, the right side) is lined with the prologue, the “end” is lined with the epilogue, and the ruffle around the cuffs are my favourite parts from the middle.

I’m always making mini versions of stuff, so before I knew what I was doing, I had a mini book in the same paper and even with similar headbands. I wanted to make a necklace that would be visible together with the jacket, so a choker felt like the best choice. The  leather band around the choker is printed (in the same lovely machine as all other foil prints, of course), with one of the first lines from the book: Aldavera, värdshusvärdens dotter, hade aldrig följt floden längre än en dags vandring neråt. (Aldavera, the innkeper’s daughter, had never followed the river more than one day’s walk downstream.)

 

*The word “print” just stopped looking real to me from typing it too many times, by the way.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Drottningens Väg – a book in three variations

  1. Most impressive! You have exceeded taking your art beyond the next level.

Leave a Reply

