Covers and Content

Bookbinding, writings, general creativity

Some sewing

I just realised there’s something missing on this blog. I’ve had books, stories, books, ribbons, musings and books, even a cake (and more books), but I haven’t showed you any of my clothes yet. That has to be changed. Right now.

Three dresses for today, I think.

The first one is quite old. I was… seventeen when I made it. I think. And I’m twenty four now. Oh my. Really, where does all the time go? Anyway, I saw some fabric in the store that was so shiny that I just had to own it. I made some quick calculations then and there and bought almost enough fabric for a corset that could be worn with two different dresses (the long skirt didn’t get as full as I wanted it to, but it works anyway.)

The second one is a medieval dress in red linen fabric, made around 2008. I loved it, but then I outgrew it and gave it away. Dyed linen fabric isn’t strictly historical anyway. The belt and bag is also made by me, of course.

The third one is a medieval dress that I will never ever part with, even if it’s slightly to small now (I do love baking). Wool with buttons in the same fabric. It’s not as horribly warm as it sounds, and as you can see, I can open it and let it hang loose over a belt if it gets too hot. (That picture is from a LARP, so the scared expression belongs to the character).

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Some sewing

  1. Absolutely beautiful dresses. You have such skill. I really like that last one too. I wish I could see the detail up close! That is a talent that you must have worked hard at. I know most talents aren’t just given without some work required.
    Maggie
    swap-bot
    soyprincesa2

Leave a Reply

